Housing Rights
Only 6 of 16 Big US Landlords Publish Their Pet Fees, and Only 4 Name Emotional Support Animals
What 16 large US landlords and property managers say on their own public pages about pet fees, pet limits, breeds and emotional support animals, counted from pages read November 5, 2026.

On this page
Of 16 large US landlords and property managers, only 6 publish a dollar amount for a pet fee, deposit or monthly pet rent, and only 8 say anything about an emotional support, assistance or service animal. Just 4 name emotional support animals, 3 list a fee waiver for them, and 1 (Tricon) says it does not accept letters from online providers. Every number comes from the company's own public pages, read November 5, 2026.
We counted what each company states on its own pages, not what its leasing offices do. Each company's name below links to our guide to it, with the exact words and the pages they come from, and the method is at the bottom.
6 of 16
publish a dollar amount for a pet fee, deposit or monthly pet rent
8 of 16
say anything about an emotional support, assistance or service animal
3 of 16
list a fee waiver for emotional support animals
1 of 16
say they do not accept letters from online providers
Only 6 of the 16 publish a dollar amount for pet fees or rent, and only 4 name emotional support animals.

Only 8 of the 16 publish a limit on pets per home, and every limit is 2 or 3.
The 8 that publish a limit set it at 2 or 3 pets. AMH, Maymont Homes and Willow Bridge say 3 (Maymont Homes counts 3 non-ESA pets). Tricon, AvalonBay, Cortland and UDR say 2. Camden's pages disagree: 2 at its Cedar Hills community and 3 at most communities in a 2021 post. The other 8 name no number.
All 8 that name restricted dog breeds list a pit bull type, and 5 also name Rottweilers and Dobermans.
8 of the 16 publish a list of restricted dog breeds: AMH, Tricon, AvalonBay, Maymont Homes, Camden, Equity Residential, Cortland and UDR. AMH, Tricon, Maymont Homes, Cortland and UDR also name Rottweilers and Dobermans. Greystar, Willow Bridge and Bell Partners say some breed limits apply and name none, and RPM Living says its pet-friendly communities have no breed or age restrictions.
Only 6 of the 16 publish a dollar amount, and monthly pet rent runs from $25 to $95 a pet.
Across the 6 that publish figures, monthly pet rent runs from $25 to $95 a pet, and one-time fees or deposits run from $99 to $500. Cortland lists the lowest rent, $25 a month at its Cary community, and UDR the highest, $95 a month at 399 Fremont, where its $99 refundable deposit is also the lowest one-time figure. Willow Bridge lists a $500 fee and Essex a pet deposit of up to $500, the highest. All 6 give a one-time figure and a monthly one.
3 of the 6 (Cortland, UDR and Willow Bridge) give figures for one community only, so another community of the same company may list different ones. The other 10 publish no amount: Greystar, AMH, AvalonBay, Camden, Equity Residential, RPM Living, Bell Partners, Avenue5, Asset Living and Bozzuto.
Only 8 of the 16 say anything about an emotional support, assistance or service animal, and 8 say nothing at all.
- Name emotional support animals (4): Greystar, Tricon, Maymont Homes and Essex.
- Use assistance or service animal wording only (4): AMH, Equity Residential, Cortland and UDR.
- Say nothing about any of them (8): AvalonBay, Camden, Willow Bridge, RPM Living, Bell Partners, Avenue5, Asset Living and Bozzuto.
Only 3 of the 16 list a fee waiver for emotional support animals, and only 1 says it rejects online letters.
Tricon and Maymont Homes state a waiver outright, and Essex says fees may be waived with documentation. Tricon lists a waiver of pet fees for verified service and emotional support animals. Maymont Homes lists pet fees ($0), monthly pet rent and breed restrictions as exempt for certified emotional support animals. Essex says "fees may be waived with documentation" and does not say which fees or which documents.
The other 13 do not say. 3 of those publish a fee amount (Cortland, UDR and Willow Bridge) and none of the 3 says whether it applies to an assistance animal.
Tricon is the only one of the 16 that addresses online providers: its page says it "does not accept documents from online providers." It asks for "a valid letter from a qualified, licensed physician or health care professional" and says it is needed when you apply and again when you renew your lease.
Only 7 of the 16 publish a company-wide page of pet rules, and 6 tell renters to ask their own community.
On the pages we read, 7 companies publish a company-wide page or document with pet rules, 4 publish rules only on one community's page and 5 publish no pet rules at all. Company-wide: Greystar, AMH, Tricon, AvalonBay, Maymont Homes, Equity Residential and Essex. One community's page: Camden, Cortland, UDR and Willow Bridge. No pet rules: RPM Living, Bell Partners, Avenue5, Asset Living and Bozzuto.
6 of the 16 say in their own words that rules differ by community or tell renters to ask the community for the exact rules: Greystar, AvalonBay, Equity Residential, Essex, UDR and Asset Living.
Here is what each of the 16 publishes, company by company.
| Company | Rules we read | Pets allowed | One-time fee or deposit | Monthly pet rent | Dog breeds | Emotional support, assistance or service animals | Fee waiver for ESAs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Greystar | Company renter guide | Not published | Not published | Not published | Some properties limit breeds, none named | ESAs "not considered pets under federal law" | Not stated |
| AMH | Company rental criteria | 3 per home | Not published | Not published | Named | "Assistance animals" are not pets; advance written approval | Not stated |
| Tricon | Company pet and documentation pages | 2 per home | $300 per pet (not in CA, CO, OR, WA or WI) | $44 per pet ($35 in Colorado) | Named | Fee waiver for verified ESAs; licensed provider's letter | Yes, for verified ESAs |
| AvalonBay | Company pet page | 2 per home at most communities | Not published | Not published | Named | Not mentioned | Not stated |
| Maymont Homes | Company pet policy page | 3 non-ESA pets | $250 first pet, $100 each more | $35 per pet | Named | Certified ESAs exempt from pet fees, rent and breed limits; documentation required | Yes, for certified ESAs |
| Camden | One community page (Cedar Hills) and a 2021 post | 2 at Cedar Hills; 3 at most communities (2021 post) | Not published | Not published | Named (Cedar Hills) | Not mentioned | Not stated |
| Equity Residential | Company resident handbook (2020) | Not published | Not published | Not published | Named | Assistance animals: contact the leasing office; fees "if any" | Not stated |
| Cortland | One community page (Cary) | 2 per home (Cary) | $350 per pet (Cary) | $25 per pet (Cary) | Named | Service animals welcome, no weight limit; ESAs not mentioned | Not stated |
| Essex | Company page (San Diego communities) | Not published | Deposit up to $500 at most communities | $45 to $65 per pet | Not published | ESAs welcome at all communities; fees may be waived with documentation | With documentation |
| UDR | One community page (399 Fremont) | 2 per apartment (399 Fremont) | $99 refundable deposit per pet (399 Fremont) | $95 per pet (399 Fremont) | Named | Reasonable Accommodation Request for an Assistance Animal, reviewed | Not stated |
| Willow Bridge | One community page (Aventura at Contee Crossing) | 3 per residence (Aventura) | $500 (Aventura) | $50 per pet (Aventura) | Restrictions may apply, none named | Not mentioned | Not stated |
| RPM Living | None found | Not published | Not published | Not published | Says "no breed or age restrictions" | Not mentioned | Not stated |
| Bell Partners | None found (one community page, no rules) | Not published | Not published | Not published | Restrictions apply, none named | Not mentioned | Not stated |
| Avenue5 | None found | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not mentioned | Not stated |
| Asset Living | None found | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not mentioned | Not stated |
| Bozzuto | None found (two community pages, no rules) | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not mentioned | Not stated |

HUD's 2004 statement addresses extra fees for an accommodation, and its May 2026 memo narrows which animal complaints it pursues.
The Fair Housing Act covers the 16 companies like any other landlord, and HUD's own statement says a housing provider may ask for reliable proof of the disability and the need, but may not charge extra fees or deposits for an accommodation. HUD and the Justice Department's joint statement on reasonable accommodations, dated May 17, 2004 and still on hud.gov when we read it, says a provider "may request reliable disability-related information" when a disability is not obvious, and that "housing providers may not require persons with disabilities to pay extra fees or deposits as a condition of receiving a reasonable accommodation." It adds that a tenant can still be billed for damage the animal causes. Of the 16, 3 list a fee waiver for emotional support animals on their own pages, and the other 13 do not say.
HUD has since changed how it enforces this. It withdrew its 2013 and 2020 assistance animal notices, effective September 17, 2025, and since May 22, 2026 its fair housing office pursues an animal complaint only when the animal is trained to do disability-related work or tasks (HUD's enforcement memo). The Fair Housing Act itself, your right to go to court and state laws did not change, and a 2025 federal decision attached to the memo found that waiving one $400 animal fee was not required on its facts, so fees are decided case by case. Our page on HUD's emotional support animal rules has the documents, and our guide to pet deposits, pet rent and fees for an ESA has the cases.
Give your companion the card
Register your emotional support animal in about 3 minutes. Your Certificate of Registration and digital ESA Card arrive by email as two print-ready PDFs, backed by a 30-day guarantee.
About 3 minutes · Instant digital delivery
30-day money-back guarantee, no questions asked.Alongside the letter, ESA Card registration gives your animal a digital ESA Card with its photo, a certificate and a number anyone can check at esacard.com/verify, for $39$59$79$99 once, in about three minutes. It is handy for the everyday questions; the letter from your provider is the document a housing provider can ask for.
We read each company's own pages on November 5, 2026 and counted only what they state.
- Who: 16 of the largest US landlords and property managers, chosen from public rankings of the biggest. We skipped 9 more because their sites block automated reading or publish no pet text.
- What we read: each company's own public pet pages: its pet policy or renter guide where it has one, and a community page where it does not. Each company's guide names the exact pages and the date on them.
- What counts as published: a statement on those pages. "Not published" means the pages we read say nothing on the point, not that the company never does.
- What we counted: a pet limit is a number of pets per home. A breed list names dog breeds. A dollar amount is a figure for a one-time pet fee, a deposit or monthly pet rent. Assistance animal wording is any sentence about an emotional support, assistance or service animal.
- What we left out: what leasing offices say on the phone, what leases contain and what communities charge in practice.
- Cite it: ESA Card Editorial Team, "Only 6 of 16 Big US Landlords Publish Their Pet Fees, and Only 4 Name Emotional Support Animals," esacard.com/blog/landlord-emotional-support-animal-study-2026, pages read November 5, 2026.
Your pet, on your phone
The part you actually carry
An ESA letter goes in your lease file. The ESA Card is the everyday one: your animal's photo, a certificate for the wall, and a registration number anyone can check. $39$59$79$99 once, about three minutes.
About 3 minutes · Instant digital delivery
30-day money-back guarantee, no questions asked.Keep reading

